Tuesday, July 16, 2024

K-M celebrates their senior wrestlers

This past Thursday night, Kasson-Mantorville wrestling celebrated their four seniors, Joey Kennedy, Luke Swanson, Dominic Mann, and Tyler Paulson.

“Thursday was a great night for our program getting to honor our seniors. It’s a bittersweet night. Those guys will be missed, and it’s nuts how you blink, and their careers are coming to a close, but awesome to dedicate a night to celebrate their accomplishments and the hard work they’ve put in,” said Head Coach Ryan Hill.

The KoMets hosted Stewartville in their last regular season home dual. K-M defeated the Tigers, 49-9.

The match of the night came at 172 pounds. Dominic Mann, ranked #2 in state, faced off against Stewartville’s #5 ranked, Tanner Elzen. Mann went on to win by decision, 6-2.

The road to the X is now upon us. With the conclusion of the regular season, team sections begin this week. -The KoMets received the #2 seed in Class AA behind Zumbrota-Mazeppa.

K-M will host Thursday night, opening with a bye, then wrestling the winner of Caledonia/Houston or Waseca. Wrestling will begin at 6 p.m.

Semifinals and finals are on Saturday at the Mayo Civic Center. Semifinals for Class AA will be at 12 p.m. with the finals at 2 p.m.

“The post-season is now upon us. Everyone is 0-0 now. It’s time to survive and advance. This team has lofty goals for themselves and we’re just working really hard to get our 13-guys feeling good, on the same page, and doing their jobs well,” said Hill.

Put on your royal blue KoMet gear this Saturday and head on down to the Mayo Civic Center to cheer on the KoMets!

Kasson-Mantorville 49 Stewartville 9

107: Rex Ayshford (KAMA) over Cade Sursely (STEW) (MD 12-0)

114: Kalin Anderson (KAMA) over Quade Mullenbach (STEW) (Dec 6-3)

121: Spencer Myers (KAMA) over Brolin Stier (STEW) (Dec 4-0)

127: Reid Rinn (STEW) over Keymoni Bent (KAMA) (Dec 7-5)

133: Hunter Karnitz (STEW) over Moyz Nelson (KAMA) (Fall 1:13)

139: Owen Friedrich (KAMA) over Jace Deyoung (STEW) (MD 9-1)

145: Jonah Coleman (KAMA) over Lucas Larson (STEW) (Fall 1:49)

152: Kaylub White (KAMA) over Caden Hyke (STEW) (Dec 10-3)

160: Luke Swanson (KAMA) over Jackson Hewitt (STEW) (TF 20-5 0:00)

172: Dominic Mann (KAMA) over Tanner Elzen (STEW) (Dec 6-2)

189: Jacob Duitsman (KAMA) over Lincoln Dube (STEW) (Fall 1:50)

215: Owen Nelson (KAMA) over Anthony Nelson (STEW) (Fall 3:46)

285: Kasson Wynia (KAMA) over Graysen Schneider (STEW) (Fall 1:41)


See full story in this week’s print edition or subscribe online. Please subscribe here or current subscribers can login here.

Dodge County Independent

Dodge County Independent
Dodge County ADvantage
301 S. Mantorville Ave.
Plaza 57 • Suite 200
Kasson, MN 55944

Dodge County Printing
301 S. Mantorville Ave.
Plaza 57 • Suite 200
Kasson, MN 55944

Monday-Thursday 10a.m.-3p.m.