Tuesday, July 16, 2024
Photo by Tammy Kennedy Kasson-Mantorville’s Aiden Friedrich (126) wins by a decision, 7-0 over his opponent from Stillwater.Photo by Tammy Kennedy Left, K-M’s Owen Friedrich heads to the mat as right, Aiden Friedrich comes off the mat.

KoMet’s end regular season with loss to Stillwater

The Kasson-Mantorville KoMets finished off their regular season with a non-conference dual last Thursday night vs Stillwater.

On paper, this match looked to be in K-M’s favor. Currently ranked #3 in Class AA, the KoMets entered the dual with nine ranked wrestlers. Stillwater stepped onto the mat ranked #11 in Class AAA, with seven ranked wrestlers.

The coin toss plays a crucial role in a dual. Alternating who presents first, Stillwater was able to work this into their favor in the heavier weights. But first, let’s start down low.

Stillwater got on the board early, securing the first win of the dual at 106 in overtime over Broc Vaughan.

The Dauffenbach brothers then picked up back-to-back victories at 113 and 120 over Kalin Anderson and Jonah Coleman.

Aidan Friedrich (126) claimed K-M’s first win of the dual, 7-0. Stillwater would claim the next two weights. Owen Friedrich (132) losing by decision and Noah Swarts dropping a major decision at 138.

The trifecta of the junior class went on a roll for the KoMets, securing wins, all by bonus points. Joey Kennedy (145) won by pin fall. Luke Swanson (152) picked up a technical fall, 18-2. Dominic Mann (160) won by major decision, 11-3.

With the KoMets now in the lead for the first time of the dual, 18-17, both teams tried to counter each other’s line-up.

With Owen Nelson and Cole Glazier double weighed-in at 170, Head Coach Ryan Hill sent Nelson out at 170 and Glazier out at 182.

Nelson fell by decision, 9-5. Glazier picked up the pin fall, putting the KoMets back in the lead, 24-20.

Stillwater weighed their top ranked wrestlers in heavy, bumping Cittadino Tuttle all the way up to 195, where he defeated Eli Richardson by major decision, 9-1.

Ohio State commit, Ryder Rodotzke accepted forfeit from the KoMets at 220. K-M was grid locked at 220, unable to send anyone out.

The night ended with a top ranked match-up. Heath Parrish is ranked #7 while Jawahn Cockfield is #5. After six minutes of hand fighting, Cockfield held on to a 1-0 decision, Stillwater winning the dual 33-24.

With the regular season now behind them, the KoMets look ahead to post season.

“We’re to the part of the season we train all year for. It’s postseason time. It’s time to do our best wrestling of the year. The kids are feeding off of it. It’s been fun to see the extra energy and pep in their steps the last couple of days in the room.

“All season, we’ve been hyper focused on whatever task was right in-front of us at the time. It’s fun to now get to focus on what we set out to accomplish this year and have a section and state championship in the crosshairs, Hill said.

“The guys have the most important dual of their lives in front of them on Thursday with the winner of Byron and Pine Island. That dual is critical to get our run started. Everyone is 0-0 right now and Section 1AA is tough. We’re focused on getting better every time out and still making jumps on our competition. We need to compete at a high level and do our jobs well,” Hill said.

Stillwater 33 Kasson-
Mantorville 24

106: Noah Nicholson (STW) over Broc Vaughan (KM) (SV-1 5-3)

113: Joe Dauffenbach (STW) over Kalin Anderson (KM) (MD 11-2)

120: Dylan Dauffenbach (STW) over Jonah Coleman (KM) (Dec 4-2)

126: Aiden Friedrich (KM) over Mikey Jelinek (STW) (Dec 7-0)

132: Sam Bethke (STW) over Owen Friedrich (KM) (Dec 6-1)

138: Lindson Turner (STW) over Noah Swarts (KM) (MD 11-1)

145: Joseph Kennedy (KM) over Cael Spates (STW) (Fall 5:09)

152: Luke Swanson (KM) over Otto Hanlon (STW) (TF 18-2 0:00)

160: Dominic Mann (KM) over Isaac Hunter (STW) (MD 11-3)

170: Mack Carlson (STW) over Owen Nelson (KM) (Dec 9-5)

182: Cole Glazier (KAMA) over Ambrose Spaeth (STW) (Fall 4:51)

195: Cittadino Tuttle (STW) over Eli Richardson (KM) (MD 9-1)

220: Ryder Rogotzke (STW) over (KM) (For.)

285: Jawahn Cockfield (STW) over Heath Parrish (KM) (Dec 1-0)


Dodge County Independent

Dodge County Independent
Dodge County ADvantage
301 S. Mantorville Ave.
Plaza 57 • Suite 200
Kasson, MN 55944

Dodge County Printing
301 S. Mantorville Ave.
Plaza 57 • Suite 200
Kasson, MN 55944

Monday-Thursday 10a.m.-3p.m.